

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education

401 North Michigan Avenue Suite 2000 Chicago, Illinois 60611

Phone 312.755.5000 Fax 312.755.7498 www.acgme.org Contact: Susan White, ACGME o: 312.755.5066 c: 773.414.5383 swhite@acgme.org

ACGME Presents Seven Awards at Annual Educational Conference

23 Individuals and 3 Institutions Recognized for Outstanding Contributions to the Graduate Medical Education Community

CHICAGO, III (March 10, 2017)—Today the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) presented 26 honorees at its Annual Educational Conference with awards, including the DeWitt C. Baldwin Jr. Award presented in partnership with the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, and the Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellowship presented in partnership with the New York Academy of Medicine.

"This year's awardees demonstrate the innovations and best practices essential to continually improving resident education and patient care. The many outstanding accomplishments realized by the recipients show the contributions of program directors, faculty, residents, fellows, and program coordinators to advance the quality of resident physicians' education," said Thomas J. Nasca, MD, chief executive officer of the ACGME.

The DeWitt C. Baldwin Jr. Award is given to Sponsoring Institutions by the ACGME and the Arnold P. Gold Foundation to recognize institutions with accredited residency/fellowship programs that are exemplary in fostering a respectful, supportive environment for medical education and the delivery of patient care, which leads to the personal and professional development of learners.

The recipients of this year's DeWitt C. Baldwin Jr. Award are:

Montana Family

Medicine

Medical Center

Nashville, TN

Virginia

Commonwealth

University Health

System Richmond, VA

The <u>Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellowship in the Clinical Transaction</u> is given to a young physician by the ACGME and the New York Academy of Medicine to enhance his or her ability to conduct the essential elements of the clinical transaction, capacities required for effective clinical care. The recipient of this year's Barondess Fellowship is:

Reza Sedighi Manesh, MD Assistant Professor of Medicine Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Baltimore, MD The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award is given to designated institutional officials (DIOs) who have demonstrated strong leadership and astute resource management and have encouraged innovation and improvement in residency programs and their Sponsoring Institutions. The recipients of this year's Courage to Lead Award are:

Madeline Erario, MD, FACP Inova Fairfax Medical Campus Falls Church, VA Abdulla K. Ghori, MD MetroHealth Medical Center, Case Western Reserve University Cleveland. OH

Rita M. Patel, MD UPMC Medical Education Pittsburgh, PA

The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award is given to program directors who have fostered innovation and improvement in their residency programs and served as exemplary role models for residents. The recipients of this year's Courage to Teach Award are:

Melvin S. Blanchard, MD, FACP Internal Medicine Barnes Jewish Hospital Washington University School of Medicine St. Louis, MO

Steven H. Bowman, MD, FACEP Emergency Medicine Cook County Health and Hospital System Chicago, IL

Susie Buchter, MD Pediatrics Emory University School of Medicine Atlanta, GA

Sharhabeel M. Jwayyed, MD, MS, FACEP, FAAEM
Emergency Medicine
Summa Health
Akron, OH

Adam I. Levine, MD Anesthesiology Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai New York, NY Vu Q. C. Nguyen, MD, MBA Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Carolinas Medical Center Carolinas Rehabilitation Charlotte, NC

Jill A. Patton, DO Internal Medicine Advocate Lutheran General Hospital Park Ridge, IL

Richard J. Pels, MD Internal Medicine Cambridge Health Alliance Cambrige, MA

Vicki Shanker, MD Neurology Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Downtown New York, NY

William T. Shimeall, MD, MPH, FACP Internal Medicine Walter Reed National Military Medical Center National Capital Consortium Bethesda, MD The David C. Leach Award is given to residents and fellows who have fostered innovation and improvement in their residency programs, advanced humanism in medicine, and increased efficiency and emphasis on educational outcomes. The recipients of this year's David C. Leach Award are:

LCDR Samuel D. Frasier, MD, MC, USN Team member: Lt Col Jacob M. Wessler, MD, FAAP, USAF, MC Otolaryngology Naval Medical Center Portsmouth Chesapeake. VA

Gordon Powers, MD Family Medicine University of Vermont Milton, VT Aalap C. Shah, MD
Team members: Meghan Flanagan,
MD, MPH; Katy Flynn-O'Brien, MD,
MPH; Andrew Herstein, MD; Barbara
DeWitt, RN; Elizabeth Visco, CRNA
Anesthesiology
University of Washington
Boston, MA

The GME Institutional Coordinator Award is given to an institutional

coordinator that demonstrates in-depth knowledge of graduate medical education and the process for internal review. This person skillfully manages the multiple roles of administrator, counselor, enforcer, coordinator, organizer, and scheduler. The recipient of this year's GME Institutional Coordinator Award is:

Richard A. Boggs, MSA San Antonio Uniformed Health Education Consortium JBSA Fort Sam Houston, TX

The GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award is given to program coordinators in recognition of their in-depth understanding of the accreditation process, excellent communication and interpersonal skills, and projects to improve residency programs. The recipients of this year's GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award are:

Dennis E. Henson Urology VCU Health Richmond, VA

Theresa M. Hill, C-TAGME Orthopaedic Surgery The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio San Antonio, TX

Georgina Rink, C-TAGME
Psychiatry
Mayo School of Graduate Medical
Education
Rochester. MN

Thea Stranger-Najjar Pediatrics University of Chicago Chicago, IL

Terri Trotter Ophthalmology Emory University School of Medicine Atlanta, GA

The ACGME is proud to honor these exceptional individuals and institutions of the graduate medical community. Through these awards, the ACGME hopes to inspire

institutions, DIOs, program directors, residents/fellows, and coordinators to continue their mission to improve health care by advancing the quality of resident physicians' education.

The ACGME Awards Program is accepting nominations for the 2018 awards, through March 31, 2017. More information at http://www.acgme.org/What-We-Do/Initiatives/Awards.

###

The ACGME is a private, non-profit, professional organization responsible for the accreditation of approximately 10,000 residency and fellowship programs and approximately 800 institutions that sponsor these programs in the United States. Residency and fellowship programs educate over 125,000 resident physicians in 150 specialties and subspecialties. The ACGME's mission is to improve health care and population health by assessing and advancing the quality of resident physicians' education through accreditation.