

2020 ACGME Award Recipients

The ACGME is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's awards, who will be honored during the 2020 Annual Educational Conference being held February 27-29, 2020 at the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina and the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotels in San Diego, California.

John C. Gienapp Award (awarded to a notable individual for exemplary contributions to graduate medical education)

Debra F. Weinstein, MD Massachusetts General Hospital Boston, Massachusetts

Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award (awarded to designated institutional officials)

- 1. John P. Co, MD, MPH Brigham and Women's Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital; Boston. Massachusetts
- 2. Karen E. Broquet, MD, MHPE Southern Illinois University School of Medicine; Springfield, Illinois

Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award (awarded to program directors)

- 1. Robyn J. Blair, MD Stony Brook Medicine; Stony Brook, New York; Pediatrics
- 2. Preston H. Blomquist, MD The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Dallas, Texas; Ophthalmology
- 3. Keith A. Delman, MD Emory University; Atlanta, Georgia; Surgery
- 4. Fiona Gallahue, MD, FACEP University of Washington; Seattle, Washington; Emergency Medicine
- 5. Donald L. Gilbert, MD, MS Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center; Cincinnati, Ohio; Child Neurology
- 6. Gabriella G. Gosman, MD UPMC Medical Education University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Obstetrics and Gynecology
- 7. Suzanne McLaughlin, MD, MSc Alpert Medical School of Brown University; Providence, Rhode Island; Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
- 8. Abby Spencer, MD, MS Cleveland Clinic; Cleveland, Ohio; Internal Medicine
- 9. Lisa L. Willett, MD, MACM University of Alabama at Birmingham; Birmingham, Alabama; Internal Medicine
- 10. Edwin L. Zalneraitis, MD University of Connecticut School of Medicine; Hartford, Connecticut: Pediatrics

David C. Leach Award (awarded to residents, fellows, or resident/fellow teams)

- 1. Anne Hart, MD Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, New York; Psychiatry *Team Members: Deborah Marin, MD; Asher Simon, MD; Jordyn Feingold, MD*
- 2. Daniel Leifer, MD University of Washington; Seattle, Washington; Dermatology
- 3. Mariam Molani, DO, MBA University of Nebraska Medical Center; Omaha; Nebraska; Pathology
- 4. David Valentine, MD New York University School of Medicine; New York, New York; Neurology
 - Team Members: Alexander Allen; Raymond Mirasol; Arielle Kurzweil; Eridiz Diaz; Laura Balcer; Steven Galetta
- 5. Marjon Vatanchi, MD SUNY Health Science Center at Brooklyn; Brooklyn, New York; Dermatology
- 6. Andrew Vivas, MD University of South Florida; Tampa, Florida; Neurological Surgery

GME Institutional Coordinator Excellence Award

Taiwana Mearidy – Emory University School of Medicine; Atlanta, Georgia

Debra L. Dooley GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award

- 1. Diana L. Brucha, C-TAGME UPMC Medical Education Program; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Obstetrics and Gynecology
- 2. Jennifer M. Shipley University of Florida; Gainesville, Florida; Neurology
- 3. Kimberly S. Brown, C-TAGME Duke University Hospital; Durham, North Carolina; Emergency Medicine
- 4. Ljiljana Popovic Boston University Medical Center; Boston, Massachusetts; Vascular Neurology and Sleep Medicine
- 5. Kareen E. Chin, MBA MD Anderson Cancer Center; Houston, Texas; Selective Surgical and Subspecialty Pathology, Dermatopathology, Cytopathology