David C. Leach Award

This award was created in 2008 to honor the former Executive Director of the ACGME (1997-2007), David C. Leach, MD, and his contributions to resident education and physician well-being. This award acknowledges and honors residents, fellows, and resident/fellow teams and their contributions to graduate medical education.

2021 Award Recipients
Amanda Lezanski-Gujda DO
Amanda Lezanski-Gujda, DO

Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
Bethesda, Maryland 

Bryce Edward Montan MD
Bryce Edward Montané, MD

Team Members: Omar Gutierrez, MD; David Savage, MD, PhD; Joseph Sleiman, MD
Internal Medicine
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio

Guenola Hunt MD LT MC USN
Guenola Hunt, MD, LT MC USN

Team members: Team Members: Melanie Wiseman, MD; Jeffery Gray, MD; Paul Happel, MD; Kimberly Fabyan, MD; Brian Neubauer, MD; Erika Walker, MD; Adam Barelski, MD; Andrew Wieher, RN-BSN; Alainna Crotty, MSN, APRN, AGCNS-BC, NE-BC
Internal Medicine
National Capital Consortium
Bethesda, Maryland

Heather K. Buxton MSEd MD
Heather K. Buxton, MSEd, MD

Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, Oregon

Matthew Robert Martin MD
Matthew Robert Martin, MD

Family Medicine
Saint Joseph Hospital Family Medicine Residency
Denver, Colorado

Thomas R. Greenwood DO
Thomas R. Greenwood, DO

Team Members: Shpetim Gina; Joshua Johnson, DO
Family Medicine
Central Washington Family Medicine Residency
Yakima, Washington

2020 Award Recipients
Anne R. Hart MD
Anne R. Hart, MD

Team members: Asher Simon, MD; Jordyn Feingold, MAPP, MD candidate
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, New York

Daniel E. Leifer MD
Daniel E. Leifer, MD

University of Washington
Seattle, Washington

Mariam Anwar Molani DO MBA
Mariam Anwar Molani, DO, MBA

University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha Nebraska

David A. Valentine MD
David A. Valentine, MD

Team members: Alexander Allen, MD; Raymond Mirasol, MD; Arielle Kurzweil, MD; Eridiz Diaz; Laura Balcer, MD; Steven Galetta, MD
New York University School of Medicine
New York, New York

Marjon Vatanchi MD
Marjon Vatanchi, MD

State University of New York Downstate Medical Center
Brooklyn, New York

Andrew C. Vivas MD
Andrew C. Vivas, MD

Neurological Surgery
University of South Florida
Tampa, Florida

2019 Award Recipients
Eric J. Chow MD MS MPH
Eric J. Chow, MD, MS, MPH
Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
Brown University and Rhode Island Hospital
Providence, Rhode Island
Sara Hogan MD MHS
Sara Hogan, MD, MHS
Team Members: Hans Arora, MD, PhD; Ashley Mohadjer, DO; Amar Gupta, MD; Christina Wong, MD; Marc Monachese, MD; Deepak Ramanathan, MD; So Jin Youn, MD; Amir Syed Shah, MD; Susan Vehar, MD; Katherine Glaser, MD; Charlotte LaSenna, MD; Ryan Berger, MD; Rachel Diehl, MD; Catherine Vozzo, DO; Matthew Hoscheit, MD; Chelsea Feng, MD
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio
Shawna R. Kleban MD
Shawna R. Kleban, MD
Plastic Surgery
University of Nevada Las Vegas School of Medicine
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jason Lai MD
Jason Lai, MD
Emergency Medicine
University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics
Madison, Wisconsin
Debraj Mukherjee MD MPH
Debraj Mukherjee, MD, MPH
Neurological Surgery
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Los Angeles, California
Laura C. Page MD
Laura C. Page, MD
Team Members: Shaina Willen, MD; Alyssa Stephany, MD; Colby Feeney, MD; Victoria Parente, MD, MPH
Pediatric Endocrinology
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina
2018 Award Recipients
Jonathan Lim MD
Jonathan Lim, MD
Internal Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, Texas
Brett W. Sadowski MD
Brett W. Sadowski, MD
Team members: Alison Lane, MD, MS; Shannon Wood, MD, MPH; Sara Robinson, MD, MS; Nora Maddy, MD; Derek Forsthoefel, MD; Rebecca Wetzel, DO; Benjamin Wilson, MD; Chin Hee Kim, MD
Internal Medicine
National Capital Consortium
Bethesda, Maryland
Srilakshmi Vallabhaneni MD
Srilakshmi Vallabhaneni, MD
Internal Medicine
Medstar Harbor Hospital
Baltimore, Maryland
Stella K. Yoo MD
Stella K. Yoo, MD
Radiation Oncology
LAC+USC Medical Center
Los Angeles, California
2017 Award Recipients
LCDR Samuel D. Frasier MD MC USN
LCDR Samuel D. Frasier, MD, MC, USN
Team member: Lt. Col. Jacob M. Wessler, MD, FAAP, USAF, MC
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
Chesapeake, VA
Gordon Powers MD
Gordon Powers, MD
Family Medicine
University of Vermont
Milton, VT
2016 Award Recipients
Olufunso W. Odunukan MBBS MPH
Olufunso W. Odunukan, MBBS, MPH
Team members: William C. Palmer, MD; Chad McCree, MD; Cara C. Prie, MD; Chrysanthe M. Yates
Cardiovascular Diseases
Mayo Clinic in Florida
Jacksonville, FL
Adele Reeder MD
Adele Reeder, MD
Team members: Jaclyn Albin, MD and Jill Roth, MD
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
2015 Award Recipients
Prathit A. Kulkarni MD
Prathit A. Kulkarni, MD
Baylor College of Medicine
Lawrence Towns, NJ
Kenneth E. Remy MD
Kenneth E. Remy, MD
Critical Care
The National Institutes of Health; Clinical Center
Bethesda, MD
2014 Awards Recipients
Nicholas Cohen MD
Nicholas Cohen, MD
Family Medicine
University Hospitals Case Medical Center
Cleveland, OH
Brent Griffith MD
Brent Griffith, MD
Diagnostic Radiology
Henry Ford Hospital
Detroit, MI
2013 Award Recipients
Donald W. Buck II, MD
Plastic Surgery
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL
Maria Buheis MD
Maria Buheis, MD
Allergy and Immunology
Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children’s Hospital
Houston, TX

Team Members:
Lenora Noroski, MD, MPH
Madhu Narra, MD
Evelyn Leechawengwongs, MD
Tierney Lake, MD
Internal Medicine
University of Colorado
Aurora, CO
2012 Award Recipients
Daniel J. DeSalvo MD
Daniel J. DeSalvo, MD
Children's National Medical Center
Washington, DC
2011 Award Recipients
Peter Fleischut, MD
New York Presbyterian Hospital (Cornell Campus)
New York, NY

Team Members:
Adam S. Evans, MD, MBA
William C. Nugent III, MD, MBA
Susan L. Faggiani, RN, BA, CPHQ
Gregory E. Kerr, MD, MBA
Eliot J. Lazar, MD, MBA
Richard S. Liebowitz, MD, MHS
Laura Forese, MD, MPH
Jason Itri, MD, PhD
Diagnostic Radiology
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA

Team Members:
Sriyesh Krishnan, MD
Christine Kang, MD, PhD
Diane Li, MD
Michael Abdulhadi, MD
Andrew Miller, MD
Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine
SUNY Health Science Center at Brooklyn Brooklyn, NY
Rashid M. Rashid, MD, PhD
Co-founder, Morzak Research Initiative
University of Texas at Houston
Claudia Reardon, MD
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI

Team Members:

Dean Krahn, MD, MS
Eric Heiligenstein, MD
Ken Loving, MD
Douglas Kirk, LCSW
Nicholas Stanek, MD
Colleen Nugent, MD, MS
University at Buffalo
Buffalo, NY
2010 Award Recipients
Omar Bhutta, MD
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Jenny Han, MD
Internal Medicine
Henry Ford Hospital
Detroit, MI
Kyla Terhune, MD
General Surgery
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN
David Turner, MD
Duke University
Durham, NC
Christopher Young, MD
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine University of Florida
Gainesville, FL
Award Information

The 2022 awards application cycle is now closed. Winners will be selected, notified, and announced in October 2021.

The Awards