David C. Leach Award



Named to honor the ACGME's former Executive Director, Dr. David C. Leach (1997-2007) and his commitment to resident education and physician well-being, this award recognizes resident-/fellow-led projects and innovations.



Mikael Guzman Karlsson, MD, PhD

Team Members: Hasham Dhakwala; Shannon DiCarlo, MD; Lisa Emrick, MD; Kristen Fisher, DO; Ramtin Kohandel; Steven Lazar, MD, MEd; Chrissie Massrey, MD; Morgan Motakef; Maegan Newell, MD; Sreya Rahman; Sarah Risen, MD; Douglas Wells, MD Neurodevelopmental Disabilities Baylor College of Medicine

Houston, Texas

The project significantly impacted the program by improving the efficiency and accuracy of diagnosing autism spectrum disorder (ASD), while enhancing patient care by streamlining the diagnostic process and ensuring timely therapy initiation. By integrating tools like the Childhood Autism Rating Scale 2 (CARS2) into the EPIC system and focusing on education around DSM-5-TR criteria, the initiative bridged knowledge gaps and provided a comprehensive, patient-centered approach. It also exposed residents to quality improvement methodology, fostering a culture of continuous improvement, and has been expanded across Texas Children's Hospital, impacting multiple disciplines and improving multidisciplinary care. The project's sustainability is supported by a multidisciplinary team, ongoing improvements like language accessibility, and the use of platforms such as Microsoft Teams for collaboration, ensuring its long-term growth and adaptability.

Nominators had this to say:

"As a dedicated social worker within the pediatric neurology division, I have had the privilege of witnessing firsthand the transformative impact this comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach has brought to diagnosing and managing ASD."